Letter from Dustin / Hot Hot Heat

On tour in NY in 1995 Amber Inn played with a band called Breakwater from Victoria, BC. We hit it off, and when Jode from Breakwater had a new band, I hooked them up a show with us in Sacramento. His new band was called Letter to the Lord Himself. They managed to release one song on a comp before imploding.

I got this letter from Dustin, who was in Letters with Jode. His new band, Fuck You I’m Stealing Home (possibly the best band name ever,) was coming down. Dustin ended up being a solid dude, and we have kept in touch since then. I booked his next band, Hot Hot Heat in 1999, and always tried to come out and see them when they would come through town. He quit that band in 2009 and moved to Montreal.

As a bonus, here is a picture of me and Dustin going at it in an intense game of air hockey in 1999 in Seattle. If memory serves me right, I pitched a shut out.

Leave a Reply

